The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary system of government comprised of four constituent nations: England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland. The Georgetown Law Library's extensive collection of UK legal materials is located on the upper level of the Wolff Library. All of these materials have call numbers that begin with the letters KD.
This guide to UK law focuses on current legal research. For assistance with historical research, consult the Law Library's guides to English Legal History and Scottish Legal History.
Key Resources for UK Legal Research
This free database, maintained by the U.K.'s National Archives, includes both primary and secondary legislation for the U.K. as a whole, as well as legislation applicable ony in Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.
ICLR Online (Georgetown Law only)
This subscription database includes all cases reported in the The Law Reports (since 1865) and in The Weekly Law Reports (since 1952), as well as cases published in several subject-specific reporters. It includes a citator, which provides links to both cited and citing cases, as well as subsequent appellant history.
Halsbury's Laws of England (5th ed.) INTL KD310 .H3 2008
This regularly updated multi-volume set is the preeminent legal encyclopedia for researching both statutory law and the development and evolution of common law principles in the U.K. Organized hierarchically by title (subject) in numbered paragraphs, with each statement of the law leading to a footnote with citations to relevant authority.